Skip to content

Big History: Listen to it

January 3, 2009

When I was home for Christmas, I was chilling with my dad and he was telling me about this lecture series he discovered titled Big History.  He loaded it on my iPod for me, and I figured I’d check it out during my daily trek to work.   A couple days later I was watching Charlie Rose interview Bill Gates.  Rose asked Gates something like: “What do you do to keep your mind sharp, to inspire you?”  Gates responded: “I listen to lectures while I’m on the treadmill.  I highly recommend Big History by David Christian”

At that point I was sold on Big HistoryI got two solid recommendations.  My dad and Bill Gates. My dad finds the cool stuff before everyone else, and if Bill Gates is investing his time in Big History I figured it must be worth the investment.

Big History is very cool.  In a nutshell, David Christian wrote and now teaches a history of the universe from the big bang 13.7 billion years ago to now. It’s an absolutely fantastic journey.  He ties in cosmology, astrology, biology, chemistry, physics, history, politics, economics, and every other academic fields into a provocative synthesis that does a good job of doing the impossible–crafting a history of everything.  You can get the content two ways:

  1. Christians text book: Maps of Time
  2. The Teaching Company sells an MP3 series:

I recommend the MP3 series.   48 lectures.  Each is 30 minutes long.   The content and his delivery are captivating.  You won’t believe how fast a 30 minute lecture goes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2011 12:12 am

    Hello! dkcfekb interesting dkcfekb site! I’m really like it! Very, very dkcfekb good!

  2. March 17, 2015 11:01 am

    This article will help the internet visitors for creating new weblog or even a weblog from start to end.

Leave a Reply

